Skin, Feathers, Shell, Scales & Fur…

Image

 

Some animals have SKIN

Image

I thought about the simplest animal with skin we could create together. I remembered seeing a tie snake some time back and decided to look it up again in my search engine ‘tie snake’. I was greeted with some really cool snakes with some really great patterns thanks to the ties. As I discuss with my daughter animals with skin, we stuffed cloth down our tie. My daughter sometimes push too hard leaving a very fat tail and so I had to straighten it out a bit.   We eventually finish (took about 10 minutes) and she was eager to play with her tie snake. It is also another animal to add to her pretend play.

I found a simple tutorial ‘Men’s Tie Snake’ from ‘Boz Baby’, and another ‘Neck Tie Snake’ from ‘Instructables’. I didn’t use a sewing machine, however, because I didn’t open up my tie too much to stuff it. I sewn up my little opening with needle and thread by hand and hot glue my googly eyes on.

Image

 

Some animals have FEATHERS

Image

I was trying to create a puppy for my daughter’s sub-theme ‘Pets’ under our ANIMAL theme and somehow it was just not looking like a puppy at all. We were also to do a bird craft later that day and while I was trying to make my pom-pom look like a puppy it was looking more like something else…and so I threw on some feathers and pipe cleaners to complete the look of what it actually looked like…a bird. Since we are going to look at Pets next week, I used pipe cleaners to create a little open cage/ stand for the bird. I also used it in our discussion about animals with feathers. We then looked in her books, on the internet and her videos for animals with feathers. As for her bird craft, we turned her hand painting into a bird.

 Some animals have SCALES

Image

I cut out fish patterns out of bubble wrap (to give it a scale look), gave my daughter four (4) options of poster paint and let her painted away. It started out that I could differentiate the colours on her fish but leave her long enough on any art work and it will start to look like one colour (normally looking like brown) 🙂 ….

 Image Image

…and so I asked for permission to add a little red.

Some animals have SHELL

Image

I cut our sea turtle patterns out of cardboard and with that I gave her an egg carton cut out and two (2) shades of green poster paint and let her do her thing.

Image Image

Some animals have FUR.

Image

I went back for our pompom panda from our Pop-pom Animals as our animal with fur. We also look around for other animals that have fur.

All these are being added to her collection of animals for her pretend play.

Leave a comment